“Being Nosey”

One of the limitations of the “old style” here and here was the noses… or rather, the lack thereof.
See, my initial character design of Bridget had no nose. Mostly because at the time, I was watching a lot of Invader Zim episodes and the titular character is an alien who does not have a nose. I really liked how cute his character design was, so I mimicked the “noselessness”  in an attempt to achieve similarly cute results.
Not having noses (or ears for that matter) on any of my characters proved to be quite a hindrance.
     Do me a favor, grab a pen, and draw out a snarling dude with a mustache and no nose...
Screen Shot 2016-03-22 at 5.42.15 PM

Aaaaaaand there you have it. So, after the style change, I thought it would be amusing to do another meta-strip where Bridget got her nose. Also, I have a… relative who is also a cartoonist, now let’s see, who is he to me? He’s… married to… my father’s… cousin? Is that right? Anyway, he’s been drawing great cartoons since before I was born, and one year for my older brother’s birthday he drew a cartoon of my brother looking into a glass display box full of noses and it read, “Fred* picks his nose.”
I as a 6 year old found this to be one of the funniest things I had ever seen and wanted to pay homage to that comic by gifting Bridget a nose wrapped up with a bow.

*My brother’s name is not Fred, however, I respect his request for privacy and have aliased him as such. Why fred? He will no doubt remember the incident with the name tag ice cream cones when we were children, when both of us refused to eat the cone with the name “Fred” on it for an entire summer.

BOTW_WP_Being Nosey

Leave a Reply

