“Gasoline”

This is the third redo from the old comic. I used to add in too much unnecessary dialogue. It’s hard, as a writer/creator/artist/etc to pull yourself back sometimes. You create this whole world, and you want to share EVERYTHING about it. But most of the time, the readers don’t need to know that stuff. So I took out the dialogue about Bridget wanting money for a drink, and instead just gave her a beverage in her hand. And I fixed the punchline. The old one sort-of fell flat.

 

If you look, really closely you will notice Debbie’s keychain has a little, purple, plastic teddy bear on it.

Screen Shot 2016-03-22 at 10.07.29 PM

“Check out the sweet detail on the car key as well. This chick is dedicated to her art” -said no one ever.

This teddy bear signifies absolutely nothing, but is further evidence of including too much. Sometimes I get so entranced in the minutia of my illustrations, I’ll be zoomed in to 600% adding intricate detail nobody will ever notice. Unless I point it out like I am here, or include a close up, like I’m going to do in a second.

Yes, I add a lot of unnoticed details, but I like to think it adds to the richness of my Bridget over troubled Waters universe, and also, should anybody ever wish to buy a print of any of my comics or single panels, blown up huge, they will not lose anything, because the detail will already be there.

Also, that’s just how I work.

Excuses, excuses.

Adding details is meditative.

It relaxes me.

I think I’ll add some now.

 

BOTW_WP_Gasoline

Leave a Reply

