“Bridgertons over troubled Waters”

I am a lucky little duckling to have the great family I do. I have three older sisters from our father’s first marriage—he is on his third now, and the old adage “the third time’s the charm” rings ever so true in his case, in fact, I think Grandma Waters is a bit of a reference to his lovely wife.

Screen Shot 2016-03-22 at 7.54.33 PM

………

One of my sisters happens to be the quite wonderful and renowned novelist Julia Quinn.

She has a series of books centered around the “happily-ever-afters” of different characters in the Bridgerton family.

P.S. there’s a NEW BOOK out today! My Bridget over troubled Waters character, Debbie, is a huge Julia Quinn fan, so a crossover comic strip just HAD to happen.

Enter the Bridgertons over troubled Waters sub-series. Julia has embraced this wholeheartedly, and we are giving away three limited edition prints of this comic (bottom of this post), signed by the both of us!

………

Screen Shot 2016-03-29 at 1.53.33 PMIn this comic…

we see Debbie and Mint competing to see who is the biggest Julia Quinn/Bridgerton fan, and in the process Bridget learn the origins of her first name.

Screen Shot 2016-03-29 at 1.50.41 PMThe first panel, where Mint is so excited to have the new Because of Miss Bridgerton book was my favorite to draw.

I experimented with her body language a bit to get the right pose. I know how dedicated Julia Quinn fans are, and Mint’s enthusiasm needed to reflect that.

As far as backstory goes, Debbie is the one who introduced Mint to Julia Quinn.

And as we saw in an archive Bridget over troubled Waters strip in the old illustration style, it was Debbie’s sister Roxy who introduced her to the books. (If you go the link, start from the bottom of the page)

………

One of my other sisters asked…

“Why does Mint have her shoes on the couch?”

And I think the answer is, “because both Mint and Debbie have children in first grade, they gave up having a spotless house a long way back”

tangeriner

And they’re such sassy, spicy, shiny pumps, they demand to be seen.

 

Print

59 thoughts on ““Bridgertons over troubled Waters”

  1. Super cute! I love JQ. Can’t decide if I want to crack open the new book and devour it or try to hold out and savor it. Either way I can’t wait to read it ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

